You can open the Preferences window by selecting Configuration - Preferences or by pressing Ctrl + P.
The preferences are split into multiple tabs for easier discoverability.
On by default. When enabled, PrusaSlicer will prompt the last output directory instead of the one containing the input files.
Off by default. When enabled, PrusaSlicer will auto-center objects around the print bed center. Relative object to object positions is unchanged. Note that when only one object is present on the platter and Auto-center parts is on, it’s impossible to move the object on the print bed as it will always snap back to its center.
By default, G-code generation starts when the user clicks on the Slice now button or immediately after switching to the Preview. When background processing is enabled, G-code is generated as soon as the models are loaded. As a result, the G-code preview, as well as print time estimate, can be in most cases displayed instantly after switching to the Preview.
Background processing is especially useful if you're going back and forth between settings and the G-code preview (e.g. when adjusting support settings).
Whenever a change is detected on the platter (e.g. moving a model, creating a copy of a model) the relevant part of the G-code starts updating on the background. Please note that unlike some older versions of Slic3r PE, background processing is now smarter and doesn’t regenerate the entire G-code, which would be computationally expensive. Only those slicing steps that were invalidated by the user action are recalculated.
By default, 3MF project files are configured to not save the full path to the source models, as this can pose a (small) security risk when sharing such a file. Enabling it will make the Reload from disk work even in re-opened 3MF files without prompting the user to locate the model in the file system. Learn more in the Reload from disk article.
When enabled, this will add the option for opening 3MF files by default with PrusaSlicer to your operating system. You will most likely get prompted by the operating system the next time you try to open a 3MF file.
When enabled, this will add the option for opening STL files by default with PrusaSlicer to your operating system. You will most likely get prompted by the operating system the next time you try to open a STL file.
When enabled, PrusaSlicer downloads updates of built-in system presets (print, filament and printer profiles) in the background. These updates are downloaded into a separate temporary location. When a new preset update becomes available it is offered at application startup.
Windows C: -> Users -> username -> AppData -> Roaming -> PrusaSlicer -> snapshots
Mac “HDD” ▸ Users ▸ username ▸ Library ▸ Application Support ▸ PrusaSlicer ▸ snapshots
Developer builds (alphas and betas) use different sets of settings than stable releases. This lets you use developer builds without affecting the stable version in any way. You'll find these snapshots in a corresponding application data folder:PrusaSlicer, PrusaSlicer-alpha,
On by default. If any valid Print / Filament / Printer profile is available, the “default” empty profile is hidden from the drop-down menu.
When checked the print and filament profiles are shown even if they're marked as incompatible with the currently selected printer.
When you drag&drop a 3MF project file to PrusaSlicer, if enabled, you'll be asked if you want to load just the model or if you want to load and select the printer/material/print profiles as well.
When enabled, only one instance of PrusaSlicer can run at a time. That means opening files associated with PrusaSlicer will simply add the model to the currently running PrusaSlicer instance. When disabled, you can run multiple instances of PS at once, completely independently. Running many instances at once may slow your pc down if it's not very powerful (cheaper laptops).
If enabled, when closing PrusaSlicer, you'll always be asked what action to take with unsaved changes and profiles. You can select "Remember my choice" the next time this happens to automatically repeat the selected action in the future.
If enabled, when switching a selected preset, you'll always be asked what action to take with unsaved changes. One of the options is to "Transfer" settings which can be especially useful if you want to keep some of the currently selected settings (e.g. keep supports turned on). You can select "Remember my choice" the next time this happens to automatically repeat the selected action in the future.
If enabled, when creating a new preset, you'll always be asked what action to take with unsaved changes.
Disabling the splash-screen will not make PrusaSlicer start any faster.
If enabled, loading new project will erase the undo/redo history.
If enabled, the legacy 3DConnexion settings dialog is available by pressing Ctrl + M.
The perspective camera gives you more information about depth, objects which are far away are smaller than those nearby. A perspective view is as seen by human eyes in the real world.
The orthographic camera is commonly used in engineering. All objects appear at the same scale, parallel lines remain parallel and a unit of length will appear to have the same length everywhere on the drawing. This makes it easier to judge relative sizes and to align models.
If enabled, scrolling upwards will be zooming out, rather than zooming in and vice versa.
When enabled, the horizontal slider on the bottom of the Preview will only affect the top visible layer. If disabled, the slider will progress through all currently visible print moves.
Show sidebar collapse/expand button
If enabled, the Collapse/expand sidebar button will be visible. However, you can always use the keyboard shortcut Shift+Tab even when the button is not visible. This feature is very useful on devices with a smaller screen or when taking full-size screenshots of the G-code preview.
By default (when disabled), the individual setting parameters work as hyperlinks to this documentation. Clicking them will launch your browser and open to corresponding documentation article. If enabled, these hyperlinks won't work and will not launch your browser (some users expressed security concerns).
If enabled, the axes' names and values will be colorized according to the axes colors. If disabled, old UI will be used.
If enabled, the order of objects in the object list will always be Model part, Negative volume, Modifier, Support blocker, Support enforcer. If disabled, you can re-order them freely. However, one of the model parts always needs to be in the first place.
Experimental option to save vertical space on small screens.
If enabled, one useful tip will be shown each time you start PrusaSlicer.
When enabled and a newer stable version of PrusaSlicer becomes available, a notification is displayed at the next startup (never during program usage). "Release only" will notify you only about stable final releases, the "All" option will notify you about all releases, including alpha, beta and release candidate versions.
This is currently only a notification mechanism, no automatic installation is done.
Both the top and left toolbar automatically re-scales based on the DPI reported by your operating system. You can manually override this scaling and set a different scale by using the slider.
Settings are located in tabs on top of the window.
A new button will appear in the top toolbar to access the settings. This can save you some screen space on devices with a smaller screen.
Settings will open in a new non-modal window. This means you can have settings open on one screen and the G-code Preview on the other. Both windows can be interacted with at the same time. This works great if you also enable Background processing - you can change any settings and watch the preview instantly update.
Turns on the Dark mode.
On Widows, the application will use standard system menu. If it looks ugly due to scaling, you can disable it to use older UI.